Use of SK and SB Soundtrack

Hi there Raptisoft, I hope this is a good way to contact you.

I'm a high school student who is developing a game of my own for windows. The game will net me no profit what-so-ever and is completely free to download and is ad-free.

I'm using music from newgrounds to cover most of the game, but I would like to use Peter Hajba's main themes he created for the SK and SB games.

If I am able to use the music, it will be credited to the artist and the game will be cited for all fairness. I will make no claim to the resources.

I guess you could say I'm asking for permission/making sure its legal for me to do this.

If I have to contact Peter Hajba specifically for this, I will.

Thank you!

Comments

• generally rapti is pretty good about stuff like that (although you might have to defer to the original artist) but what kind of game is it, and will we get a demo of it? =D
  • Thanks for the reply.

I have no intention of this thread being an advert for my game, but here's the indiedb link if you want to see it. http://www.indiedb.com/games/cakequest

It's a dungeon crawler and I would really like the music from the Solomon's games to ice the cake.

I'm hesitant on releasing a demo because this is my first game I've ever made, and I'm worried about criticism on a project that will have a demo or early access before it is completed.

So as far as I'm concerned, no. The game will probably not have a demo. 
  • Give me a couple days to think about it... I don't have any major objections but I have to consult a few people on what can happen to me (after Dark I am very legal gun-shy, and I've had a few other legal cases in my personal life that discourages non-contractual donation).  I paid a fair but of cash for those songs, so I would want some pretty prominent links.  Give me a few days, then I'll contact you via private message.